CLERK'S OFFICE APPROVED Date: 1 25 48

Submitted by:

Assembly Chair Von Gemmingen

Prepared by: For reading: Clerk's Office August 25, 1998

ANCHORAGE, ALASKA AR No. 98-261(S)

1 2 3	A RESOLUTION OF THE ANCHORAGE MUNICIPAL ASSEMBLY APPROVING AN APPOINTMENT TO FILL THE REMAINING TWO ½ YEARS OF MIKE BURNS' TERM ON THE ANCHORAGE TELEPHONE UTILITY (ATU) BOARD OF DIRECTORS
4 5 6 7	WHEREAS, Section 16.03 of the Municipal Charter establishes the authority and sets out, in general terms, the procedure for appointing a five-member board of directors for ATU as follows:
8	The Anchorage Telephone Utility shall be governed by a Board of Directors consisting
9 10 11	of five (5) members. Directors shall serve for staggered terms of five (5) years and are appointed to office by the Assembly upon nomination by the Mayor or by a member of the Assembly and after a public hearing.
12 13	WHEREAS, Mike Burns resigned his seat which expires January 14, 2001; and
14 15 16 17	WHEREAS, pursuant to AO 95-148 and AM 771-98, the Municipal Clerk solicited resumes from people interested in serving on the Board and received four (4) letters of interest from
18	Sam Gaston
19	Theresa Nangle Obermeyer
20	Sharon E. L. Patterson
21 22 22	George M. Sullivan, and
23 24 25	NOW, THEREFORE, the Anchorage Assembly resolves:
26 27 28	Section That George M. Sullivan is appointed to the ATU Board of Directors to fill an unexpired term of two 1/2 -years ending January 14, 2001.
19 10	Section 2: That this resolution is effective upon passage and approval.
12	PASSED AND APPROVED by the Anchorage Assembly this 25th day of August, 1998.
4 5	4 1/ 17 ()
7	Taylon Lemmingen
8 9 0	ATTEST: Anchorage Assembly
1 1	Municipal Clerk
4	Instruction Cicia